WebClick Tracer

June 23, 2024

No new coin series – BSP

​The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) informs the public that it has not released a new Philippine coin series.

Some images of coins circulating on social media are part of the “Ang Bagong Lipunan” coin series issued by the central bank in 1975, and demonetized in 1998. Demonetized coins are no longer accepted as payment for goods and services.

The New Generation Currency (NGC) is the latest legal tender coin series released by the BSP. The NGC coin series composed of the 10-Piso, 5-Piso, 1-Piso, 25-Sentimo, 5-Sentimo, and 1-Sentimo were launched in March 2018, while the 20-Piso and enhanced 5-Piso were introduced in December 2019.

The NGC coins are significantly more difficult to counterfeit due to their stronger security features.

The BSP advises the public to always verify information found in social media regarding Philippine banknotes and coins. To fact-check such information, the public may visit the Notes and Coins section of the BSP’s official website www.bsp.gov.ph.

For more information on the NGC coin series, please visit:

https://bit.ly/NGCcoins or check the Frequently Asked Questions on Philippine coins: https://bit.ly/FAQNGCcoins.